

Union County, NC

Union County Government
Center
500 North Main Street
Monroe, North Carolina
www.unioncountync.gov

Legislation Text

File #: 21-516, Version: 1

TITLE:

Greg Morgan, Wilbur E. Long Award (NC DEQ statewide recognition)

INFORMATION CONTACT:

Andrew Neff, UC Water & Wastewater Division, Director, 704-296-4215

ACTION REQUESTED:

Recognize Greg Morgan, Field Services Superintendent, for earning the Wilbur E. Long Award.

BACKGROUND:

Each year the Water Pollution Control System Operators Certification Commission awards the prestigious Wilbur E. Long award to a well deserving candidate in the utility industry. The candidate must have demonstrated outstanding knowledge and innovation in the continuing operation of wastewater facilities or who has contributed his time and efforts toward the training, education, and general upgrading of people in the wastewater utility industry. The Commission is chaired by NC DEQ and comprised of industry professionals from academia, private industry and public utilities. Its mission includes developing wastewater industry professionals, providing for their certifications and their achievements.

In 2021, Greg Morgan, the Union County Water Field Services Superintendent, earned the Wilbur E. Long Wastewater Operator of the Year Award and is being recognized for this achievement by the Commission. Over the past year Mr. Morgan led the effort in Union County Water to significantly reduce sanitary sewer overflows (SSOs) from previous years (overflows reduced from 43 in FY 20 to 23 in FY 21). These efforts involved installing a temporary pipeline to overcome a hydraulic restriction in the wastewater collection system, working to maximize the flow into the equalization basin at the Crooked Creek WRF and identifying and developing the strategy to repair defects in a 42 inch sewer to reduce I&I. These efforts involved coordination and support from many people within the organization which Mr. Morgan readily gives credit to. He continues to advocate for operators through training and development throughout the state. Greg was awarded the Kasey Monroe Outstanding Service Award in 2016 and was also awarded the Golden Manhole in 2020 in recognition for his exceptional service to the utility industry. He has taught many classes throughout the state during his 20 years in the industry and is actively engaged with the NC American Water Works Association (AWWA)-Water Environment Association (WEA) as Treasury on the Board of Trustees. He is also the Chair for Operations Challenge Committee and is an appointed member of the Water Environment Federation Operations Challenge Committee.

The Wilbur E. Long Operator of the Year Award will be presented by W. Corey Basinger, NC DEQ Mooresville Regional Office, and Chair of the Water Pollution Control System Operators Certification Commission.

File #: 21-516, Version: 1

FINANCIAL IMPACT:

None