JOINT RESOLUTION OF THE UNION COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AND THE MONROE CITY COUNCIL DISSOLVING THE MONROE-UNION COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

WHEREAS, local governments including counties and municipalities are authorized by North Carolina General Statutes Sections 158-8 *et. seq.*, 160A-460 *et. seq.*, and 153A-445 to enter into agreements and partnerships for economic development purposes, including the creation of economic development commissions; and

WHEREAS, Union County ("County") and the City of Monroe ("City") created the Monroe-Union County Economic Development Commission (the "Commission") pursuant to the authority set forth in North Carolina General Statutes Sections 158-8 *et. seq.*, through the Union County Board of Commissioners' and the Monroe City Council's adoption of the "Joint Resolution of the Union County Board of Commissioners and the Monroe City Council Creating the Monroe-Union County Economic Development Commission (the "Establishing Resolution"), effective January 1, 2022; and

WHEREAS, County and City, as referenced in the Establishing Resolution, also entered into an Interlocal Organizational and Operating Agreement concerning the purpose, governance, organizational structures, powers and duties, and activities of the Commission (the "Interlocal Agreement"), effective January 1, 2022; and

WHEREAS, County and City have determined that it is now in their respective best interests to promote economic development activity through each entity's own internal economic development efforts independent of the other Party, engaging in economic development project collaboration with each other on a case-by-case basis moving forward; and

WHEREAS, N.C.G.S. § 158-8 provides that a resolution creating an economic development commission may be modified, amended, or repealed in the same manner as it was originally adopted; and

WHEREAS, the Interlocal Agreement may be amended or terminated as provided therein or in accordance with applicable law; and

WHEREAS, both County and City desire to repeal the Establishing Resolution, terminate the Interlocal Agreement, and distribute Commission assets, thereby dissolving the Commission; and

WHEREAS, the County and City desire to "wind-down" the Commission effective July 1, 2025, including distributing Commission assets prior to that date; and

WHEREAS, the County and City agree that the Commission should continue in existence for several months beyond the July 1, 2025, date, in order to meet statutory requirements related to fiscal audits as well as any other obligations; and

WHEREAS, as of July 1, 2025, the membership of the Commission's Board of Directors

will be changed for the end of the "wind-down" period, such that City's City Council and Mayor will be the members of the Commission's Board of Directors and the City will be responsible for the payment of any outstanding obligations of the Commission until the Commission's dissolution date, with County agreeing to reimburse the City fifty percent (50%) of such costs; and

WHEREAS, the County and City desire for the final repeal of the Establishing Resolution and termination of the Interlocal Agreement to be effective November 1, 2025; and

WHEREAS, the County and City adopt this Resolution in order to effectuate such termination of the Commission.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE Union County Board of Commissioners and the City Council of the City of Monroe as follows:

- 1. The Establishing Resolution is hereby repealed, in accordance with N.C.G.S. § 158-8 *et. seq.*, effective November 1, 2025.
- 2. The County and City agree that the Interlocal Agreement shall be modified as set forth in the attached amendment to the Interlocal Agreement, the terms of which are incorporated into this joint resolution by reference. The amendment to the Interlocal Agreement provides that the Interlocal Agreement will terminate effective November 1, 2025.
- 3. This Resolution may be modified, amended, or repealed in the same manner as originally adopted.

Adopted the 16th day of June, 2025 by the Union County Board of Commissioners.

Attest:	
Lynn G. West, Clerk to the Board	Melissa Merrell, Chair Union County Board of Commissioners
Adopted the day of, 2025	5 by the City Council of the City of Monroe.
Attest:	
Bridgette H. Robinson, City Clerk	Robert Burns, Mayor City of Monroe